OWASP AppSec Day

AppSec Day is Australia’s only conference dedicated entirely to application security. Aimed at providing a welcoming environment for developers, testers, devops engineers and security professionals alike. To improve their application security knowledge, skills and to network with other like minded professionals. With a day filled with talks, hands on workshops and panel sessions to learn all things application security.


In 2016 we sold 150 tickets to software developers and testers, devops engineers, students and security professionals, interested in learning about application security. In 2017 we expanded our venue and doubled our ticket sales to local and interstate IT professionals. This year, we are expecting similar growth with over 450 delegates anticipated. To accommodate this growth the event will be hosted at the RMIT University, a world-class conference venue with award winning venue spaces.

OWASP Foundation

Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) is an open-source, not for profit association, made up of corporations, public sector organisations and individuals from around the world. Providing free, vendor-neutral and practical application security guidelines. OWASP is the de facto standard-setting body for web application security. OWASP has a strong open and global community with over 45,000 participants, and more than 125 organisational and academic supporters. With 200 local chapters across 6 continents in 117 countries.

The Team

The OWASP Melbourne chapter is a not-for-profit community run group with a focus on application security. Covering a wide range of application security topics; catering to beginners and advanced members alike. Our presentations are designed for people in the technology industry. Developers, DevOps engineers, testers, security advisors, penetration testers and application security enthusiasts. Our events are aimed at providing relevant, practical and actionable knowledge, that translates to stronger security and robust software.


Julian Berton

Conference Lead

Pamela O'Shea

Conference Staff

Daniel Ting

Conference Staff

Ashish Rajan

Conference Staff

Josh Williams

Conference Staff

Ashwin Vasanth

Conference Staff